25

25

It’s been a hard week, I said to my coworkers today that I felt like I’ve just been treading water this week. I bought a bottle of wine and tonight I planned to toast to the fact there was just one last day in the workweek. Nothing could bring me out of my mood, until I got a notification from iTunes… my preorder for Adele’s 25 was ready just past 8:30pm on Thursday night.

Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 10.55.20 PM
It was important enough to Instagram

Look, I know it’s an understatement for most people but… my god… Adele is fucking amazing.

I immediately listened to the full album, putting aside the work I took home with me because this was much more important.

Upon first listen my review… it’s fucking phenomenal. I’ve missed her.

My favourite so far is When We Were Young. She released a live version earlier this week that may be better than the album version, which is a rare feat

I mean… that high note at the end… all of the feels. The line “I’m so mad I’m getting old, I’m getting reckless.” Why you mad Adele?! You’re the most talented 25 (actually 27) year old on the planet!

Damn guys, how do I get to be one-tenths as amazing and talented as Adele?

I rarely buy albums so the fact that I preordered this one and shelled out my cash instead of torrenting it speaks highly of Adele. Go buy it. You’ll cry and gasp and feel all the feelings. It will be amazing and cathartic.

And lest you think Adele is only about sappy, lost love ballads you’ll be pleasantly surprised. She still has a few ballads (some dedicated to her son, others to her man), but there’s more upbeat songs than her last album.

Just buy it. Trust me.

Have you listened yet? What’s your favourite track, do you think this album can meet the expectations that 21 set?

Leave a comment